Administration and Faculty



  • Kelly Damphousse, Ph.D.

President’s Cabinet

Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs
J.C. Kellam Administration Building, Suite 1060

The Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs reports directly to President Kelly Damphousse and represents the university in all respects in the president’s absence.

As the chief academic officer, the provost is responsible for all the university’s major academic endeavors, which include supervision of all academic units and programs as well as a number of academic support and service units.

The provost is also responsible for academic strategic planning, managing the budget for the division of Academic Affairs, establishing academic policies, academic unit reviews and accreditation, academic program development in conjunction with deans, chairs/directors, and faculty representatives, and resource development for academic affairs. The Provost has responsibility for the university’s research enterprise and enrollment management operations, too.

In addition, the provost authorizes academic appointments, leads faculty development initiatives and makes recommendations to the president on all faculty evaluation decisions, including tenure and promotion, among other responsibilities. The Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs works closely with and coordinates the efforts of the executive team to achieve the established goals of the university, within a framework of shared faculty governance.


Academic Deans

Academic deans are the chief executives of their colleges and the major academic officers of the university. To be effective, deans operate within a university organizational structure that clearly communicates the fundamental importance of academic concerns.

Academic deans lead in the formulation of appropriate departmental, college and university policies and are responsible for the implementation of those policies. The deans meet as the Council of Academic Deans and have responsibility for leadership in matters of curriculum, instruction and academic policy.

College of Applied Arts
Angela Ausbrooks (interim), Ph.D.

McCoy College of Business
Sanjay Ramchander, D.B.A

College of Education
Michael P. O’Malley, Ed.D.

College of Fine Arts and Communication
John Fleming, Ph.D.

College of Health Professions
M. Gary Sayed, Ed.D.

College of Liberal Arts
Mary C. Brennan, Ph.D.

College of Science and Engineering
Barrett Bryant, Ph.D.

The Graduate College
Andrea Golato, Ph.D.

Honors College
Heather C. Galloway, Ph.D.

Department Chairs and School Directors

Department chairs and school directors are the chief executives of their departments/schools and are responsible for the implementation of university, school and department policies for the development, coordination and administration of all academic programs and activities within their departments.

As representatives of their schools and departments, chairs/directors articulate program aspirations, directions, and standards to other groups inside and outside the university community.